Clarewalsh's Blog


Asia, Here I Come – Hoi An
December 30, 2009, 12:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This UNESCO World Heritage site really is the jewel of Vietnam. It’s like stepping back in time and has not only french influences, but Chinese and Japanese as well. It’s noticable not only in architecture but the art and the narrow streets. There are many temples and sites to see around the town, which is a pleasure to walk around. Of course, Hoi An is also famouse for it’s many tailors and cobblers. Although there are many tailors, too many to count, most of the clothes are made in one of three factories. Of course, I succumed! A dress, suit and a pair of sandals later, my backpack a little heavier.

The journey by train from Nha Trang was pleasurable, a relaxing way to travel. It took eight hours and I spent the time accompanied by an Australian guy. We swapped many stories of the experiences to date, unfortanely for him, he’s only travelling for 16 days. With the early 5am start, I was easily lulled to sleep!

I shared a mini bus ride with a bunch of people to get from the train station in Danag to Hoi An, which is about 30km away. They are all English teachers in S Korea and they tell me of their experiances and life in Korea. Sounds enjoyable way to spend time.

As ever, I’m on a mission to get as far north as possible and move on to the next stop. Hue is only a three hour bus ride from here. I just couldn’t face a 15 hour bus or train ride straight through to Hanoi


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment