Clarewalsh's Blog


Asia, Here I Come – Koh Phangnan
January 15, 2010, 1:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The final five days of this five-week trip were tagged for spending some time with Paula and Yot (and the two boys!) on the lovely island of Koh Phangnan. It’s a small island in the Gulf of Thailand, on the east side of the mainland. It’s world-renowned for full moon parties. However, lucky for me, I arrive here after the January 1st full moon! The journey here took a day, I flew from Hanoi to Bangkok and then on Surat Thani on the mainland with Air Asia. A cheaper way to get here…flying to Samui can be expensive. From Surat Thani i took the bus (1 1/2 hours) and then a three-hour boat ride. I left Hanoi at 9am and arrived in Koh Phangnan at 9pm. Not too bad.

There’s plenty here for everyone, whether it’s partying, sightseeing around the island or just generally relaxing. I had a very relaxing few days, just playing with the dogs, catching up on some reading and eating some delicious food. Next time I’m back here I’ll most certainly do a Thai cookery course and learn to ride the motorbike over the hills to Haad Rin!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment